MUNICIPAL GENERAL/BYE ELECTIONS

PRESS NOTE

Panchkula, the 15th May, 2013 : Shri Dharam Vir, State Election Commissioner, Haryana has stated that seven IAS officers have been appointed Election Observers for the elections of Municipal Corporations, Ambala, Panchkula, Karnal, Panipat, Hisar, Rohtak and Yamuna Nagar to be held on June 2, 2013. The list of officers along with the Municipal Corporations assigned to them is as under:-

Sr. No.	Name of Officer	Municipal Corporation
1.	Sh. R.P. Gupta, IAS	Ambala
	Divisional Commissioner, Ambala	
2.	Sh. Chander Parkash, IAS	Karnal
	Divisional Commissioner, Gurgaon	
3.	Smt. Neelam Pardeep Kasni, IAS	Hisar
	Divisional Commissioner, Hisar	
4.	Smt. Suprabha Dahiya, IAS	Rohtak
	Divisional Commissioner, Rohtak	
5.	Sh. Surjeet Singh, IAS	Panchkula
	Administrator, HUDA, Panchkula	
6.	Sh. H.S. Malik, IAS	Panipat
	Secretary to Govt. Haryana,	
	Public Health Engineering Deptt.	
7.	Dr. Parveen Kumar, IAS	Yamuna Nagar
	Administrator, HUDA, Gurgaon	

2. The Election Observers have been asked to review the arrangements to be made for the conduct of free, fair and peaceful elections; deployment of police force on sensitive and hyper sensitive polling stations and area. They will give special attention towards the polling stations to be set up for the weaker sections of the society. They will hear complaints of the contesting candidates, political parties and the public and refer them to the Deputy Commissioner to take appropriate action. In addition, the Observers have been asked to monitor the implementation of model code of conduct and enforcement of the instructions issued by the Commission regarding defacement of property etc. They will visit the area allotted to them at least five times e.g. (i) before the last date of filing nominations (ii) scrutiny of nominations, allotment of symbols and publication of final list of contesting candidates, (iii) during campaign period and training session (iv) second randomization of poll staff, formation of polling parties, distribution of poll material and till polling is

over and EVMs are delivered back and stored safely and (v) day of counting and declaration of results.

3. Sh.Dharam Vir, State Election Commissioner, Haryana has further stated that to keep a watch on expenditure incurred by the contesting candidates during the elections of Municipal Corporations, following seven Deputy Excise and Taxation Commissioners have been appointed as Observers (Expenditure) :-

Sr. No.	Name of Officer	Name of Corporation/
		Committee
1.	Sh. Ravinder Kaushik, DETC, Ambala	Ambala
2.	Sh. RaJ Kumar, DETC, Karnal	Karnal
3.	Sh. Rameshwar Mehra, DETC, Hisar	Hisar
4.	Sh. Sewa Singh, DETC, Rohtak	Rohtak
5.	Sh.Rajiv Chaudhary, DETC Panchkula	Panchkula
6.	Sh. Vidya Sagar, DETC, Panipat in Panipat,	Panipat
7.	Sh. Shiv Kumar, DETC, Yamuna Nagar	Yamuna Nagar

4. Sh. Dharam Vir, further stated that any person can contact the Observers for the redress of his/her grievance relating to election of the Municipal Corporation elections.